A. Elections and appointments

73/401. Appointment of the members of the Credentials Committee

At its 1st plenary meeting, on 18 September 2018, the General Assembly, in accordance with rule 28 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee for its seventy-third session consisting of the following Member States: ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA, CHILE, CHINA, FINLAND, GHANA, PALAU, RUSSIAN FEDERATION, SIERRA LEONE and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

73/402. Election of members of the Human Rights Council

At its 19th plenary meeting, on 12 October 2018, the General Assembly, pursuant to its resolutions 60/251 of 15 March 2006 and 65/281 of 17 June 2011, elected Argentina, Austria, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Czechia, Denmark, Eritrea, Fiji, India, Italy, the Philippines, Somalia, Togo and Uruguay as members of the Human Rights Council for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2019 to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Belgium, Burundi, Côte D'Ivoire, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Panama, the Philippines, the Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, Togo, the United Arab Emirates and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

As a result, as of 1 January 2019, the Human Rights Council is composed of the following 47 Member States: Afghanistan, Argentina, A

73/403. Election of the Chairs of the Main Committees of the General Assembly at its seventy-third session²

On 4 October 2018, the Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee) of the General Assembly held a meeting in accordance with rules 99 (a) and 103 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly for the purpose of electing its Chair.

At the 19th plenary meeting of the General Assembly, on 12 October 2018, the President of the Assembly announced that Mr. Dee-Maxwell Saah KEMAYAH, Sr., of Liberia had been elected as Chair of the Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee) of the Assembly at its seventy-third session to replace Mr. Lewis Garseedah Brown of Liberia.³

73/404. Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

At its 35th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2018, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁴ appointed the following persons as members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

¹ China, Cuba, Nigeria, the Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Togo and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland are serving their second consecutive term.

² In accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, the General Committee consists of the President of the Assembly, the 21 Vice-Presidents and the Chairs of the six Main Committees.

³ See decision 72/420.

⁴ A/73/481, para. 6.

Budgetary Questions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2019: Mr. Yves Éric Ahoussougbemey, Mr. Amjad Qaid Al Kumaim, Mr. Makiese Kinkela Augusto, Mr. Ihor Humennyi and Mr. Conrod Hunte.

As a result, as of 1 January 2019, the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions is composed as follows: Mr. Bachar Bong ABDALLAH (*Chad*),** Mr. Yves Éric AHOUSSOUGBEMEY (*Benin*),*** Mr. Amjad Qaid AL KUMAIM (*Yemen*),*** Mr. Makiese Kinkela AUGUSTO (*Angola*),*** Mr. Pavel CHERNIKOV (*Russian Federation*),** Mr. Ihor HUMENNYI (*Ukraine*),*** Mr. Conrod HUNTE (*Antigua and Barbuda*),*** Mr. Marcel JULLIER (*Switzerland*),* Mr. Mahesh KUMAR (*India*),* Ms. Julia A. MACIEL (*Paraguay*),** Mr. Takeshi MATSUNAGA (*Japan*),* Mr. Olivier MYARD (*France*),* Mr. Carlos RUIZ MASSIEU (*Mexico*),* Mr. Cihan TERZI (*Turkey*),** Mr. David TRAYSTMAN (*United States of America*)** and Mr. YE Xuenong (*China*).*

73/405. Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

At its 35th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2018, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee,⁵ appointed the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2019: Mr. Syed Yawar Ali, Mr. Robert Ngei Mule, Mr. Toshiro Ozawa, Mr. Tõnis Saar and Mr. Brett Dennis Schaefer.

At its 65th plenary meeting, on 22 December 2018, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ⁶ appointed Mr. Jakub Chmielewski as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2019.

As a result, as of 1 January 2019, the Committee on Contributions is composed as follows: Mr. Syed Yawar ALI (*Pakistan*),*** Mr. Jakub CHMIELEWSKI (*Poland*),*** Mr. Cheikh Tidiane DèME (*Senegal*),* Mr. Gordon ECKERSLEY (*Australia*),* Mr. Bernardo GREIVER DEL HOYO (*Uruguay*),* Mr. Michael HOLTSCH (*Germany*),** Mr. Evgeny KALUGIN (*Russian Federation*),** Mr. Robert Ngei MULE (*Kenya*),*** Mr. Baudelaire NDONG ELLA (*Gabon*),* Mr. Toshiro OZAWA (*Japan*),*** Mr. Tõnis SAAR (*Estonia*),*** Mr. Henrique da Silveira SARDINHA PINTO (*Brazil*),** Mr. Brett Dennis SCHAEFER (*United States of America*),*** Mr. Ugo SESSI (*Italy*),* Mr. Alejandro TORRES LÉPORI (*Argentina*),* Mr. Steve TOWNLEY (*United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland*),** Ms. YOON Seongmee (*Republic of Korea*)** and Ms. ZHANG Wei (*China*).**

73/406. Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

At its 35th plenary meeting, on 15 November 2018, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the Fifth Committee, ⁷ confirmed the appointment by the Secretary-General of Ms. Keiko Honda as a regular member of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2019.⁸

As a result, as of 1 January 2019, the Investments Committee is composed as follows: Mr. Madhav DHAR (*India*),* Ms. Keiko HONDA (*Japan*),** Mr. Simon JIANG (*China*),* Mr. Achim KASSOW (*Germany*),*

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2020.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

⁵ A/73/483, para. 4.

⁶ A/73/483/Add.1, para. 4.

⁷ A/73/484, para. 4.

⁸ One vacancy remains to be filled as a result of the resignation of a member of the Committee.